Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 15th, 2012

Here in the northeast, Mother’s Day was just PERFECT weatherwise!  Tons of sun and warm temps.   Made taking a hike in the woods looking for letterboxes so much nicer!

The letterboxes were located among the windmills of the Fenner Windmill Farm which is about 1/4 mile from our home! 

I could have stayed out all day long wandering in the woods looking for treasures, but…… I had other things that I wanted to do (knit mostly).   There was a total of 4 boxes hidden here in this little park, but we decided to just do two and leave the other two for another day.

As my husband stamped in the log book I strolled around and took in the beautiful creations of God with my eyes and my camera.

This is a Mayapple  – or Mandrake Root.   The forest floor was covered with them.  You can see the beginning of the “apple”/fruit part of the plant starting to form.   It will be quite a while before it is fully rippened – sometime in late June.   I am just ovewhelmed by allthe green in this picture!

Still waiting for Scott I found where the birds of the air and the creatures of the ground (raccoons) have made various homes in the trees.

A very ambious woodpecker of some kind was having their eye set on building a home here! 

Then as I was getting ready to take a shot of another neat tree I could hear this noise coming from WITHIN the tree.  The sound of a little raccoon family!  The children were chirping and cooing and I am not sure if Momma was in there or not.  I was not about to reach my hand in there.   When they heard me call for Scott, everything became still.

So much green!  No wonder it is my favorite color!

When we were done I stopped and got on the ground to take this wood violet.

I surprised myself at the focus qaulity of this simple digital camera with this multi layered focused pinecone photo.

So that was my Mother’s Day after church.  When we were done we headed home and worked outside till I declared that I didn’t want to work anymore and then the time for knitting had arrived.

Read Full Post »